Tentative Tips Part One – How to stay standing and happy alongside the person you care for with dementia

Anne de Gruchy

I’ve worked for many years in the field of mental health, and more recently with people living with dementia and their carers, but nothing prepared me for the emotional reaction of becoming a carer myself. First, my mother developed vascular dementia. She died suddenly four years ago, relatively early in the progress of the disease, but left my dad alone with the beginnings of Alzheimers.

I know the health and social care systems well, but have found it incredibly hard to deal with them when setting up care for my dad. It doesn’t help that my own mental health is fragile. I’d like to share with you some of the insights that have come to me along the way, and things that I have found helpful. This is not practical advice on services that are available – the excellent Alzheimer’s Society or Dementia UK or one of the many carers’…

View original post 1,069 more words

Leave a Reply

